WDFW announces additional tentative razor clam digs through December

  • Thu Sep 19th, 2019 12:05pm
  • News

State shellfish managers have tentatively scheduled razor clam digs, starting with Long Beach only from Sept. 27-29, with more beaches added in late October.

“Abundant razor clam populations on all beaches, except Kalaloch, are allowing for more digging opportunity this year,” said Dan Ayres, state shellfish manager. “But, it is important that razor clam diggers be sure to only dig where it is allowed.” Razor clam diggers can find detailed beach maps that indicate locations and local names for beaches online at wdfw.wa.gov/fishing/shellfishing-regulations/razor-clams#beachmaps.

Final approval of all scheduled openings will depend on the results of marine toxin tests. The Department of Fish and Wildlife typically announces whether a dig will go forward about a week before the opening, said Ayres.

The proposed razor clam digs to date, along with low tides and beaches, are listed below:

Sept. 27, Friday, 5:52 a.m.; -0.9 feet; Long Beach only

Sept. 28, Saturday, 6:36 a.m.; -0.8 feet; Long Beach only

Sept. 29, Sunday, 7:19 a.m.; -0.6 feet; Long Beach only

No digging is allowed after noon for the late September digs where low tide occurs in the morning.

Oct. 26, Saturday, 5:59 pm, 0.0 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis

Oct. 27, Sunday, 6:47 pm, -0.8 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks

Oct. 28, Monday, 7:33 pm, -1.2 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis

Oct. 29, Tuesday, 8:18 pm, -1.4 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks

Oct. 30, Wednesday, 9:03 pm, -1.2 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis

Oct. 31, Thursday, 9:50 pm, -0.8 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks

Nov. 1, Friday, 10:38 pm, -0.2 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis

Nov. 11, Monday, 5:51 pm, 0.1 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis

Nov. 12, Tuesday, 6:27 pm, -0.3 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks

Nov. 13, Wednesday, 7:03 pm, -0.5 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis

Nov. 14, Thursday, 7:41 pm, -0.6 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks

Nov. 15, Friday, 8:22 pm, -0.5 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis

Nov. 16, Saturday, 9:08 pm, -0.3 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks

Nov. 17, Sunday, 9:59 pm, -0.1 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis

Nov. 24, Sunday, 4:47 pm, -0.4 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis

Nov. 25, Monday, 5:34 pm, -1.0 feet; Long Beach Twin Harbors, Mocrocks

Nov. 26, Tuesday, 6:18 pm, -1.3 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis

Nov. 27, Wednesday, 7:02 pm, -1.4 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks

Nov. 28, Thursday, 7:44 pm, -1.2 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis

Nov. 29, Friday, 8:29 pm, -0.7 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks

Nov. 30, Saturday, 9:10 pm, -0.2 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis

Dec. 10, Tuesday, 5:28 pm, -0.2 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks

Dec. 11, Wednesday, 6:06 pm, -0.6 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis

Dec. 12, Thursday, 6:45 pm, -0.9 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks

Dec. 13, Friday, 7:26 pm, -1.0 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis

Dec. 14, Saturday, 8:08 pm, -1.0 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks

Dec. 15, Sunday, 8:53 pm, -0.8 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis

Dec. 16, Monday, 9:41 pm, -0.4 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks

Dec. 23, Monday, 4:35 pm, -0.4 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks

Dec. 26, Thursday, 6:47 pm, -1.1 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis

Dec. 27, Friday, 7:26 pm, -0.9 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks

Dec. 28, Saturday, 8:05 pm, -0.6 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis

Dec. 29, Sunday, 8:43 pm, -0.2 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks

No digging is allowed before noon during digs in October, November and December where low tide occurs in the afternoon or evening.

Ayres notes that low tides around New Year’s are not low enough for successful razor clam harvest, so digging will not open then.

Fish and Wildlife sets tentative razor clam seasons that are based on the results from an annual coast-wide razor clam stock assessment and by considering harvest to date. Each dig is then independently authorized after getting the results of marine toxin testing.

All diggers age 15 or older must have an applicable fishing license to harvest razor clams on any beach. Licenses, ranging from a three-day razor clam license (starting at $9.70) to an annual combination fishing license, are available online at fishhunt.dfw.wa.gov and from some 600 license vendors around the state.

Under state law, diggers at open beaches can take 15 razor clams per day and are required to keep the first 15 they dig. Each digger’s clams must be kept in a separate container.