Pre-Christmas razor clam digs approved for Dec. 20-23

  • Wed Dec 19th, 2018 7:16am
  • News

Just in time for Christmas, the state has approved four days of razor clam digs Dec. 20-23, including alternating dig dates for Mocrocks and then Copalis areas on the North Beach.

The digs for Christmas also include an opening to the south at Long Beach, which has been rare this season while North Beach digging for the prized clams has been ongoing.

“We are opening Long Beach to give visitors a chance at some clams for the holidays, but diggers should expect some smaller clams in their catch,” said state coastal shellfish manager Dan Ayres.

Long Beach has been closed for much of the season to give the high number of juvenile razor clams a chance to grow. Only evening tides are open and there’s no digging allowed before noon. The upcoming dig is approved on the following beaches, dates, and evening low tides:

Dec. 20, Thursday, 4:51 p.m.; -0.3 feet; Twin Harbors, Mocrocks

Dec. 21, Friday, 5:35 p.m.; -1.0 feet; Twin Harbors, Copalis

Dec. 22, Saturday, 6:20 p.m.; -1.4 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks

Dec. 23, Sunday, 7:05 p.m.; -1.6 feet; Twin Harbors, Copalis

Also announced are tentative digs through February. Proposed razor clam digs on selected beaches during evening low tides include:

Jan. 2, Wednesday; 4:22 p.m.; 0.2 feet; Twin Harbors

Jan. 3, Thursday; 5:06 p.m.; -0.2 feet; Twin Harbors

Jan. 4, Friday; 5:46 p.m.; -0.4 feet; Twin Harbors, Mocrocks

Jan. 5, Saturday; 6:23 p.m.; -0.4 feet; Twin Harbors, Copalis

Jan. 6, Sunday; 6:59 p.m.; -0.4 feet; Twin Harbors, Mocrocks

These digs, like all razor clam seasons, are dependent on marine toxin tests to determine if the clams are safe to eat before beaches can be opened.

More proposed digs:

Jan. 17, Thursday; 3:39 p.m.; 0.4 feet; Twin Harbors

Jan. 18, Friday; 4:30 p.m.; -0.4 feet; Twin Harbors

Jan. 19, Saturday; 5:18 p.m.; -1.1 feet; Twin Harbors, Mocrocks

Jan. 20, Sunday; 6:05 p.m.; -1.6 feet; Twin Harbors, Copalis

Jan. 21, Monday; 6:51 p.m.; -1.8 feet; Twin Harbors, Mocrocks (Martin Luther King Jr. Day Holiday)

Feb. 1, Friday; 4:48 p.m.; 0.2 feet; Twin Harbors, Copalis

Feb. 2; Saturday; 5:28 p.m.; 0.0 feet; Twin Harbors, Mocrocks

Feb. 3, Sunday; 6:04 p.m.; -0.1 feet; Twin Harbors, Copalis

Feb. 15, Friday; 3:11 p.m.; 0.4 feet; Twin Harbors, Mocrocks

Feb. 16, Saturday; 4:08 p.m.; -0.3 feet; Twin Harbors, Copalis

Feb. 17, Sunday; 4:59 p.m.; -1.0 feet; Twin Harbors, Copalis, Mocrocks

Feb. 18, Monday; 5:46 p.m.; -1.4 feet; Twin Harbors, Mocrocks (Presidents Day Holiday)

Feb. 19, Tuesday; 6:31 p.m.; -1.5 feet; Twin Harbors

Feb. 20, Wednesday; 7:14 p.m.; -1.3 feet; Twin Harbors

Feb. 21, Thursday; 7:56 p.m.; -0.8 feet; Twin Harbors

Ayres recommends diggers hit the beach about an hour or two before low tide for the best results. Diggers want to be sure to come prepared with good lighting devices and always keep an eye on the surf, particularly at this time of year when the best low tides come after dark, he added.

All diggers age 15 or older must have an applicable 2018-19 fishing license to harvest razor clams on any beach. Licenses, ranging from a three-day razor clam license to an annual combination fishing license, are available online at fishhunt.dfw.wa.gov and from license vendors around the state.

Under state law, diggers at open beaches can take 15 razor clams per day and are required to keep the first 15 they dig, regardless of size or condition. Each digger’s clams must be kept in a separate container.